INAOE student receives State Youth Award 2022 in Tlaxcala

M. C. Cristina Pérez Ramos, a student at the National Institute of Astrophysics, Optics and Electronics (INAOE), won the Tlaxcala State Youth Award 2022 in the "Science and Technology" category.

This award is given every year by the Government of Tlaxcala and has the objective of recognizing young people for their dedication, studies or work in different academic fields, as well as promoting and motivating new generations to get involved and generate new opportunities in the state.

Cristina Pérez is a recent graduate of the Master's in Space Science and Technology, INAOE's postgraduate program. Thanks to her scientific training and her research and outreach work, they allowed her to send her request to participate in this 2022 call.

During her master's degree, Cristina Pérez developed the project for the formation of unmanned vehicles for the exploration of nearby planets and to help spacecraft navigation. Currently the student is enrolled in the doctorate in Space Science and Technology, and will participate in a space mining project. This project is developed by the Foundation Approaching the Universe and the Space Program of Poza Rica, Veracruz.

“In 2030 it is intended to launch a space rover to collect mineral resources in space, I will participate in the control and navigation area of ​​the rover during my doctorate, I go hand in hand with my advisors, doctors Miguel Chávez Dagostino, researcher and astronomer at INAOE , and José Miguel Ramírez Olivo, from the Canadian Space Agency”, reported the student.

She finally added that thanks to the training she has obtained at the INAOE, new opportunities have opened up for her, always devoting all her effort and determination to what she intends to achieve.

Last update:
17-08-2022 / 11:48 by Guadalupe Rivera Loy


Adress: Luis Enrique Erro # 1, Tonantzintla, Puebla, Mexico / Postcode 72840 / Tel: (222) 266.31.00 / Contact: difusion@inaoep.mx

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 2.5 Mexico License.

Creative Commons License