• INAOE researcher: Investigador Titular C, SNI III
  • Project Scientist of the Large Millimeter Telescope
  • Head of the INAOE Millimeter Cosmology & Instrumentation Group

Ongoing Projects

LMT, the Large Millimeter Telescope (LMT), or Gran Telescopio Milimétrico (GTM), a 50-m dish at the top of Sierra Negra, Mexico, starting scientific comissioning in mid-2008.

AzTEC, the Aztronomical Thermal Emission Camera, the 144 spider-web bolometer camera of the LMT, that has obtained scientific 1.1mm imaging campaigns at the James Clerk Maxwell Telescope in Hawaii, USA (2005); and at the Atacama Submillimeter Telescope Experiment, in Chile (2007-2008).

BLAST, the Balloon-borne Large-Aperture Submillimeter Telescope, a 2m dish optimized for imaging at 250-500um that was launched from Kiruna, Sweeden (2005) and Antarctica (2006-2007) to substain 5-15 day observing flights. It has observed an array of galactic and extragalactic fields.

ACT, the Atacama Cosmology Telescope, a 6-m single dish telescope optimized to study the Cosmic Microwave Background and the abundance of clusters in the Universe through the Sunyaev-Zel'dovich effect. The telescope is operative since the beginning of 2008.

SCUBA2 Cosmology Legacy Project, (S2CLS) is a collaboration of ~100 scientists to exploit the immense increase in mapping speed, fidelity and sensitivity of the new SCUBA2 submillimeter camera on the JCMT at 450 and 850um.

Group Members

The INAOE Millimeter Cosmology and Instrumentation group is a cohesive team of faculty and students, mainly located at INAOE, but with strong international links and collaborations, that take advantage of the above projects to research galaxy and cluster formation and evolution, the Cosmic Microwave background and its secondary distortions, and the instrumentation necessary to accomplish those projects. Current members of the team are:

  • David H. Hughes, INAOE, researcher.
  • Itziar Aretxaga, INAOE, researcher.
  • Enrique Gaztañaga, CSIC (Spain), visiting researcher
  • Alicia Porras, INAOE, researcher
  • Idalia Hernández-Curiel, CRyA-UNAM/INAOE, PhD student
  • Alfredo Montaña, INAOE, PhD student
  • Milagros Zeballos, INAOE, PhD student
  • David Omar Sánchez, INAOE, MSc student
  • Emmaly Aguilar, INAOE, MSc student

Past-members of the group include:

  • Miguel Ángel Aragón (MSc INAOE 2003, currently at JHU, USA)
  • Edward Chapin (PhD INAOE 2004, currently at UBC, Canada)
  • Daniel Ferrusca (PhD INAOE 2006, currently at UC-Berkeley, USA)
  • Francisco Ramos (MSc INAOE 2004, currently at UC-Berkeley)
  • Miguel Velázquez (PhD INAOE 2007, currently at LLNL, USA)
  • Jeffrey Wagg (PhD INAOE 2006, currently at NRAO, USA)