The Guillermo Haro advanced school on modelling the ionized universe will be held at INAOE (Instituto Nacional de Astrofísica, Óptica y Electrónica, Tonantzintla, Puebla, Mexico) from July 3rd to 14th, 2017. The school will provide a comprehensive, state-of-the-art, hands-on approach to the modelling of ionized gas in different environments, from AGB stars to active galactic nuclei, to an audience of up to 40 young researchers, mainly PhD students and postdocs.

The first week will consist of a Cloudy workshop led by Gary Ferland. Cloudy is a general-use spectral synthesis code designed to simulate conditions in interstellar matter under a broad range of conditions. The workshop will cover both observations and theory, showing how to apply Cloudy to a wide variety of astronomical environments, including the interstellar medium, AGB stars, active galactic nuclei, starburst galaxies, and the intergalactic medium. The sessions will combine textbook study, using Osterbrock & Ferland's Astrophysics of Gaseous Nebulae and Active Galactic Nuclei, with the application of Cloudy to research problems chosen by the participants. No prior experience with Cloudy is assumed. The participants will break up into small teams and organize research projects of mutual interest. The workshop will include lectures by Peter van Hoof on dust, stellar atmospheres and parallel processing in Cloudy.

The second week will delve further into the topics introduced during the first week, with lectures by Gloria Delgado-Inglada (IA-UNAM), Gary Ferland (University of Kentucky), Christophe Morisset (IA-UNAM), Hagai Netzer (Tel Aviv University), Manuel Peimbert (IA-UNAM), Mónica Rodríguez (INAOE), and Peter van Hoof (Royal Observatory of Belgium). The lectures will explore the problems encountered when applying ionization models to real objects, such as those involving uncertainties in atomic data, dust structure and composition, or the spectral energy distribution of the ionizing source, as well as the effects of shocks and possible departures from the Maxwellian velocity distribution. The lecturers will present different strategies that can be used to approach specific problems, and will discuss future developments in the field.

Hagai Netzer will cover the following topics: (1) The origin of the ionizing radiation: Accretion disks near active black holes; (2) Radiation pressure, ionized outflows and feedback; (3) Measuring black hole mass using broad emission lines; (4) Dusty gas from the vicinity of the black hole to the edge of the galaxy; and (5) Black hole and galaxy evolution derived from spectroscopic analysis. We will have a practical introduction by Christophe Morisset to the use of PyNeb, a code for the analysis of emission lines in ionized gas, the 3MdB model database, and pyCloudy, a package that facilitates the interaction with Cloudy and that allows the construction of pseudo-3D models. Peter van Hoof will discuss atomic databases. Gloria Delgado-Inglada will lecture on the use of grids of photoionization models to study chemical abundances in ionized nebulae. Manuel Peimbert will tell us about 50 years of temperature inhomogeneities in gaseous nebulae. Mónica Rodríguez will discuss new and old challenges in the study of H II regions and planetary nebulae. Finally, Gary Ferland will talk about the Orion Nebula and its environment (The Orion Star Forming Regions: A Case Study).

During this second week, the participants will also have time to build on the projects developed in the first week or to start afresh with new projects that explore the capabilities of Cloudy.

In order to create an environment that facilitates the exchange of ideas and the development of future collaborations, we will have spaces available where the participants can display posters describing their work and research interests.

The participants will be accommodated in the guest rooms at INAOE, where basic facilities and service are supplied. During the weekdays, breakfast, lunch, and dinner will be provided at INAOE. The fees will be 250 US Dollars and will cover school expenses, accommodation and the meals at INAOE. A limited number of grants might be available later.

You can see the poster of the school here.

Gloria Delgado Inglada (IA-UNAM)
Gary Ferland (University of Kentucky)
Christophe Morisset (IA-UNAM)
Hagai Netzer (Tel Aviv University)
Manuel Peimbert (IA-UNAM)
Mónica Rodríguez (INAOE)
Peter van Hoof (Royal Observatory of Belgium)

Organizing Committee
Itziar Aretxaga (INAOE)
Gary Ferland (University of Kentucky)
Christophe Morisset (IA-UNAM)
Raúl Mújica (INAOE)
Mónica Rodríguez (INAOE, chair)
Elena Terlevich (INAOE)
Roberto Terlevich (INAOE)